LOSS

Hi

I received a really supportive and encouraging and deeply pastoral email from a ministry colleague a few days ago.   It really struck a chord with me. While I am in a better space (especially mental health wise) than I was particularly in early May, I continue to struggle like so many in these uncertain, scrambled pandemic times.
The colleague’s early paragraph summed things up for me well: “ Fatigue. Stress. Exhaustion. Depression. Burnout. It’s a confronting continuum of declining wellbeing. And it is a present threat to each of us in ministry at this time.”
I have sought to take time out and will continue to do so, but it doesn’t erase the sense of loss I so deeply feel. Obviously everyone’s context and way-of-dealing-with-things is unique, just as they are unique in God’s crafting, but I feel loss in so many ways. Here are a few … many of them surprising for the strong introvert I am!
  • So many “last” ministry events or services
    • ministry retreat … I so look forward to this each year
    • Healthy ministry breakfasts
    • In-person synod … my final while in full time ministry
    • In-person Presbytery meetings
    • This year’s Easter and Pentecost services
    • my church’s annual prayer retreat day
  • The loss of any real sense of routine or normality from week to week (well, as much as one ever does in congregational ministry)
  • Loss not having weekly preaching opportunities. My weekly online SSUC midweek musing is an attempt to mutually deal with that
  • With this, while I totally “get” all the health/safety realities that prevent this, I miss so deeply not being able to be responsive face-to-face with people in being faithful to my call (or at least part of that call) to be a preacher and pastor.
  • Loss of regular face to face pastoral ministry with my local church community esp. with seniors
  • Loss effectively of Tarragindi’s 3Fs Seniors group due to COVID-19 realities
  • Loss of opportunity in my final year to go to Iona and spend time with the Community there (true: hopefully some time in the future that option might re-emerge)
  • Loss of the way Dale and I expected to spend 2020 – Dale in 1st year of post-teaching retirement and me preparing for retirement.
  • Loss of feeling of well-being … so often feeling flat, no energy and so on.
  • Loss of excitement
I’m so aware of a few things:
  • that plenty of others are going through some version of what I am.  Yet, the word, the feeling, the deep paining for me is … loss.
  • as I blogged a few weeks back, I am profoundly grateful:  here’s the link on Gratitude.
So yesterday, I woke up early and the following lament tune “came”.  Yes, I’ve called it LOSS.
I name it for what it is.
I give thanks for my musical gifting … which has enable some totally-unexpected mostly-instrumental journalling and the love of Dale, my family and church family. That has helped, along with God’s constant grace fresh every morning.
Take care, folks.
David

3 Responses to “LOSS”


  1. 1 Patricia (Patti) Kreutzwieser July 30, 2020 at 1:26 pm

    My husband officially retired on June 30th. Travel was our plan while the congregation would work and fall in love with a vacancy pastor. Needless to say John is fulfilling his usual duties at a quarter of the pay ( no we are truly not bitter just chuckle at the events) and there is no plan for a vacancy pastor or getting away ( should have taken that winter vacation after Christmas but thought we would carry on til July ha).Anyway the way I look at it God felt John needed to minister to this flock just a little longer because our new pastor isn’t quite ready to accept the call yet. And as for the vacancy pastor. His loss to have missed the opportunity to get to know and work with this congegatikn.
    So may I be so bold to say God needs you doing what you are doing so carry on in His service.
    Walking in the light of His love Patti


  1. 1 Worship online – Sunday 4 October 2020 – St Luke's Uniting Church, Highton Trackback on October 4, 2020 at 8:12 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 727 other subscribers

RSS Just in – ABC News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.