keep calling me … a song about following

Somehow, I can’t help myself while on holidays each year at Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia. There’s no doubt God chooses to speak with me through the beauty of the shoreline here … through the refreshing sea breezes.

Anyhow, I’ve had the call narratives of the Gospels in my mind. The Spirit breezes blow and so it is I’ve written a simple song with that in mind, inspired by Jesus’ call of the fisherman Peter, Andrew, James and John.

I wanted a really easy-to-learn refrain. Hopefully I’ve managed that. I’m hopeful Keep Calling Me can have a range of uses – perhaps congregation just singing the refrain, with soloist or ensemble doing the verses. Perhaps the verses spoken as a poem … over an instrumental of the verses. Anyhow, it’s there for your use, Once back from Hervey Bay, I’ll do a music score for it.

Also … anyone who even half knows me is well aware I’m no singer. That said, I’ve croaked out the melody of the refrain in the accompanying backing track. Lots of reverb, and anyway, I’ve somewhat buried my vocal in the backing. Through the wonders of my iPad’s GarageBand app I’ve put a basic track together, with ‘piano’ supplying the melody line throughout.
Here it is via YouTube … remember – still at demo stage!

Keep Calling Me

Christ you stand before us all
Christ you come and Christ you call
leave it all behind and join my journey
Come with me and find your life
Live my love and shine my light
Leave it all behind you
Come and follow

And you keep calling me
You keep calling me
You keep calling me
Come and follow

You keep calling me
You keep calling me
You keep calling me
and I will follow

You beckon us to walk your way
Your kingdom come on earth this day
To lose our life yet find it in the rising
Find it in your love for all
Find it in compassion’s call
to seek the lost
to whom your grace is calling

And you keep calling me
You keep calling me
You keep calling me
Come and follow

And you keep calling me
You keep calling me
You keep calling me
and I will follow
You keep calling me
and I will follow

David MacGregor
(C) 2014 Willow Publishing

20140115-092818.jpg

He Qi

heqiarts.com

Copyright Permission: This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution Noncommercial ShareAlike 3.0 License. In short: you are free to use and to share the file for non-commercial purposes under the conditions that you appropriately attribute it, and that you distribute it only under a license compatible with this one. For uses other than the above, contact the Divinity Library at divref@vanderbilt.edu.

0 Responses to “keep calling me … a song about following”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

