Because the Lord’s my shepherd

sheep-with-shepherdLong time ago I wrote a new musical setting of Psalm 23.  I called it Because the Lord’s my shepherd.

It was written in the late 1970s (yes, that’s right) as part of a musical called Rock-On Goliath!  I wrote the musical in connection with the International Year of the Child.  We performed Rock-On at my local church at Indooroopilly, Brisbane, Australia.  Later that year (or was it the next!) as part of a Queensland Uniting Church synod musical presentation.  Chris Macnaught, later a member of my first congregation in ministry (Sunnybank UC) sang the part of David – the shepherd boy.

This Sunday’s lectionary readings (especially John 10:22-30 and Psalm 23) take us back into the shepherd heart of God. We’re reminded that the sheep know the shepherd’s voice.   At a time when “The Voice” (as in TV show phenomenon) rates through the roof, I need to be reminded of our shepherd God, and to listen afresh to that voice.

Some years later, the same Chris Macnaught (these days I think in school chaplaincy ministry) recorded the song and did a fantastic job. Thanks Chris – hope you don’t mind people accessing it on this blog.

Here are the lyrics of Because the Lord’s my shepherdfrom a Psalm that never fails to lift, sustain and encourage me … and a seemingly endless array of people down the ages.

Blessings,

David

music score

Because the Lord’s my shepherd
I’ve everything I need
He leads me by the quiet stream
to lie in fields of green
When my health it starts to fail,
my strength – he helps it mend.
He guides me in the right paths.
Helps me honour him again.

And when I walk through darkness
I will not be afraid.
For you are close beside me
Guiding all the way. 

You provide for me abundantly
Though enemies surround
You welcome me as your guest
greater blessings can’t be found.
Your goodness, love and kindness
will be with me day and night.
And your house will be my home
always, all my life.

And when I walk through darkness
I will not be afraid.
For you are close beside me
Guiding all the way … all the way.

© David MacGregor 1979

1 Response to “Because the Lord’s my shepherd”


  1. 1 Patricia June 12, 2013 at 4:42 am

    David, Thank you for sharing your gift of music with the church. We used your song “Because the Lord’s my Shepherd” on Good Shepherd Sunday here in Canada and I think it really is one of our favourite Sundays in the Church year (ok perhaps runs a close third to Christmas and Easter). Having text of songs and hymns that draw such a vivid picture as “Because the Lord’s my Shepherd” brings the message home about how we are tended by so completely by a loving Lord. P


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

