you are mine … baptism song

Hi
This Sunday’s readings give opportunity to not only give focus on Jesus’ baptism in the Jordan but also our own baptism.

So it is, while holidaying at beautiful Hervey Bay, Queensland, God’s led my reflecting on Luke 3:15-17, 21-22 and Isaiah 43:1-7 to the point where I’ve written this baptismal song: YOU ARE MINE. Quite intentionally … and drawing closely on scripture, the lyric has God addressing the ‘child’ being baptized. Perhaps the first time I’ve written such a lyric.

The writing of the song has presented its challenges -you see, I left my Mac (Logic software and all) at home. So – courtesy of the iPad AND some old-style rough manuscripting (last did this in 1990!) here it is. Rough and ready … absolutely. Back on deck next week, I’ll have a full piano score and vocal mp3. For now,think of something a bit folky with a slight country tinge. Contemporary baptismal songs for worship are scarce. I pray this one finds some use and blessing.

David
MacGregor

YOU ARE MINE

Child, I love you
Child, I claim you
I delight in you
For all time
In my gifting
In your belonging
Child, I love you
You are mine

When you pass through the waters
I’ll be with you
When you walk through the fire
You won’t be burned
Do not fear
You are loved
I have redeemed you
I’m with you always
You are mine

Come, find life in fullness
in living water
In my dying, my rising
be renewed
Come, be welcomed
into my living body
My Spirit life and promise
born in you

David MacGregor (c) 2013
Willow Publishing

20130109-105607.jpg

0 Responses to “you are mine … baptism song”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 626 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

