not ashamed

A bit of back-to-back blogging about to happen from me.

Hi folks.
This Sunday’s lectionary gospel is Mark 8:31 to 38 …

“ All who want to come after me must say no to themselves, take up their cross, and follow me. All who want to save their lives will lose them. But all who lose their lives because of me and because of the good news will save them. Why would people gain the whole world but lose their lives? What will people give in exchange for their lives? Whoever is ashamed of me and my words in this unfaithful and sinful generation, the Human One m will be ashamed of that person when he comes in the Father’s glory with the holy angels. ” (Mk 8:34b-38)

This has been a significant passage in my faith journey, and I’d be the last to suggest that I live these words of Jesus all that well!

My strongest connection with this passage (and it basically appears in all four gospels) is its use among 4000 young (and barely-young … that’s me) young people at NCYC 1991 (the Uniting Church’s National Christian Youth Convention) over a week in January in Toowoomba, Australia.

Tony Campolo was the keynoter speaker.  His input was incredibly challenging; putting it to us fair and square want it meant to be an authentic disciple of Christ.  Yes, it would mean carrying our cross (perhaps figuratively, but perhaps also literally).  The cost of doing this would be very real.  Gulf War I was within days of breaking out.  Who knew what the implications of this would be to the world’s well-being.  Campolo in short put it to each of the 4000 there: are you up to it?

My response was: Yes … though with much trepidation and “what am I letting myself in for?”.  As is me, I put my response to song, penning what for me is a song which has maintained it’s ‘currency’ and sense of longevity: Not ashamed.  It’s very much an affirmation of faith … an affirmation of “I will follow you, God wherever, however, whenever.  I’m yours.”

Not Ashamed       music score mp3  vocal (in C)

Not ashamed to love
Not ashamed to serve
Not ashamed to be following Jesus.
Put myself aside for my Lord who died.
Not ashamed to be following Jesus.

1. Lord your call is strong
to follow you along a
not so easy road.
Are we prepared to die?
Are we prepared to love?
Will we carry a heavier load?

2. To forget ourselves and
trust in someone else:
that’s the cost of life in You.
As we give You all
we shall gain much more.
It’s the road You call us to.

© David MacGregor 1991
based on Mark 8:34-38

Grace & peace,

David

0 Responses to “not ashamed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

