create in me a clean heart

Hi!

Amid everything else that’s been happening in our family life this weekend – and with Ash Wednesday just 3 days off – I’ve written a new setting of some of the key verses of Psalm 51.  I’m really happy with it!  (“OK, you say that about all your songs, David!”.) Well, I am a hard critic of myself.  Currently I’m away at our church camp at beautiful Coolum Beach on the Sunshine Coast, Australia; so I won’t be able to offer leadsheet at least until this evening.  Stay tuned.

For now, here are some lyrics:

Create … in me a clean heart
(Create in me, in me a clean heart)
Create … in me a clean heart
(Create in me, in me a clean heart)
Create … in me a clean heart
(Create in me, in me a clean heart)
and renew a right spirit within me

Chase me not away from you, God
and take your holy spirit not away from me
Restore to me the joy of your salvation
sustain a willing spirit deep in me

Create … in me a clean heart
Create … in me a clean heart
Create … in me a clean heart
and renew a right spirit within me

Help me, Lord to speak and I will praise you
Off’rings, sacrifices you don’t choose
It pleases you when sorrow wells deep in us
[It pleases you:  a heart that knows repentance]
The kind of sacrifice you won’t refuse

Create … in me a clean heart
Create … in me a clean heart
Create … in me a clean heart
and renew a right spirit within me

© David MacGregor 2010
from Psalm 5
1

0 Responses to “create in me a clean heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

