deeper into you

deeper1

Over the course of my songwriting journey (since my late-teens), a good percentage of my songs have arisen out of a theme or project, as much as necessarily a life experience … though rest assured there has been plenty of the latter.  I’ve written songs for Sunday school units, youth & kids camping themes, Bible study themes, special milestones in the life of the church (my still-used Together to Celebrate is one example – written in response to a series of Bible studies: The Next Step – put out by the UC Assembly for the 10th Anniversary of the Uniting Church in Australia).

And so it is that a whole collection of courses, programs and sermon-series seem to be suddenly happening at my church: Indooroopilly Uniting here in Brisbane, Australia.  For example, tonight I give leadership to an eight week series Going Deeper (a rebadged Confirmation group), next Sunday and for the four following Sundays in worship we’ll explore the topic of prayer & spirituality – under the theme: An engaging faith.  A Living the Questions group began last night.  There is talk of Alpha happening again.  See the linkages?  It’s all about going deeper with God, and deeper and further along the journey of Christian discipleship.

I felt inspired just before to write a song I hope to use (and suggest to my colleagues for their use too) during services I lead in the weeks ahead.  It’s called Deeper into you.  Here it is below, with music to be available later this week:

1. Deeper into you, Lord
seek me,  journey
All my life a prayer God
joined with you
Deeper into you, Lord
you are life and meaning
Deeper, deeper, deeper
Deeper into you

2. Spirit, take my weakness,
words unuttered, you
take my feelings
joy long quelled by pain
Deeper into you
to join in deep communion
Deeper, deeper, deeper
Deeper into you

Deeper into you, Lord,
call me outwards
In you, to be your heart
your hands, your voice
Deeper into you, Lord
you’re my life, my meaning
Deeper, deeper, deeper
Deeper into you

David MacGregor © 2009    Willow Publishing   music score

0 Responses to “deeper into you”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 642 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

