Discernment

discernmentI find it amazing how from time to time events, incidents and observations coalesce – in ways in which God can clarify things going on in my life … those times when discernment is so necessary. God has God’s own sense of timing … with which I don’t stand a chance.

Presently, discernment is a major thing for me – knowing where, how, when and why and with whom God would want me to give special focus in life and ministry. You see, I’m a fairly self-motivated, self-sufficient, independent, strong Myers-Briggs “J” (almost off the scale in that area!)

Amazing then (well – perhaps not really, when one considers things) that a week back, I again picked up Christianity for the Rest of Us, by Diana Butler Bass – a book I had got 1/3 of the way through by last October, before the ‘hecticness’ of the silly season ground my reading to a sudden halt. No kidding, I opened up the book to where I left off … the chapter? Discernment. Among the first words I read were these: Where do you see God in your ministry? An important question for me at the moment; of course: 24/7.

I still dwell on that question: Where do I see God in my ministry? It’s a question we would all do well to ask – God, are you in this? God, are you in this decision I must make? And God if you are, give me the eyes to see, the heart to embrace and the mind to understand AND the feet to follow your way.

And then this weekend, as I sit in an a Sydney airport lounge en-route home to Brisbane, I reflect on two really helpful reflections (teaching times really) presented by Peter T, a Sydney minister – on the theme of anxiety. There is anxiety in my life at present – Peter’s teaching was so helpful. Nothing of a health or relationship thing I quickly hasten to add! Discerning the mind of God is important for me in these times.

I see this reopened book (highly recommended) and the chapter I opened up AND Peter’s sharing as exquisite examples of God’s gracious moving in my life – all bound up in the challenge of discerning.

0 Responses to “Discernment”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

