Something fine … hoping so!

jackson_browne_07000472Tonight … with my birthday tomorrow, Dale and I will celebrate it tonight at a Jackson Browne concert. This (gloat I know) will be my third chance to see the guy in concert – the first almost 20 years ago.

Many will say that Browne sacrificed his career mid-80s by tilting his repertoire toward sings that were far more political or environmental in nature.

I’d like to think it did the opposite – ensuring a continued appreciation and respect across the music world for songs that blend both the introspective & reflective with the profoundly political. The political stuff has always been there – think mid-70s “Before the deluge”

There’s little doubt that Jackson Browne has had a profound affect on my own songwriting . I don’t copy his style or even much of his content (wish I did sometimes!) but I hope I can in some way emulate his passion, and the beauty or potency of his lyric.

I’m looking forward to “Something fine” tonight … don’t expect to be disappointed!

0 Responses to “Something fine … hoping so!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 626 other followers

RSS Journey fast-news

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Books

RSS Theolog:”The Christian Century”

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

